Skip to content

Visa for Denmark, Norway and Iceland

As of 2011, Taiwan-passport holders do no longer need a visa to enter the countries of the Schengen Agreement as a tourist or for business purposes, provided that no employment is taken. Denmark, Norway and Iceland are countries that are part of the Schengen area. The maximum length of stay is 90 days within six months. Please note that Taiwan-passport holders have to be in the possession of a valid passport, including an identity number in order to enter Schengen countries.  



Foreign passport holders

Certain foreign passport holders need to apply for a Schengen visa to enter Denmark. Please make sure to check whether or not you need to apply for a Schengen visa here.

If it is the case that you need a Schengen visa, please submit your application at The Trade Council of Denmark in Taipei, providing the following: (All documents should be provided in English (Chinese-English bilingual is also accepted) and printed by A4 size paper)

  • Application (please download on the right hand side)
  • Original Passport with at least two blank pages and one copy of passport
  • Original and copy of Alien Resident Certificate ( Foreigner residents in Taiwan) or re-entry permit, which is valid for 3 months after the departure date from the Schengen area. Original will be returned after checked.
  • Flight reservation
  • Original and copy of Bank book for the last 3 months. If you are submitting copies of your bank book pages, you must show the evidence the pages belong to the same bank book as the account number is not printed on those pages. Original will be returned after checked.
  • Accommodation/ invitation
    A Travel itinerary including hotel accommodation reservation or similar confirmation of
    accommodation for the entire trip.
  • Working certificate and leave approval dates granted or certificate of enrolment from school.
  • Travel insurance certificate – information must include:
    a. Insurance policy number
    b. Name of the insured
    c. The insurance shall be valid throughout the territory of the Member States and cover the entire
    period of the person’s intended stay or transit. The minimum coverage shall be EUR 30 000.
  • Previous Schengen visa(s)
  • Fee (NTD 2,100)

Please note that an appointment should be made by e-mail or phone before your meeting at The Trade Council of Denmark, Taipei.

Travel medical insurance

Nationals who require a visa must have a travel medical insurance policy for their period of stay in Denmark as well as in other Schengen states when applying for a visa.

For nationals who do not require a visa, it is highly recommended to purchase a travel medical insurance for the duration of their stay, even if insured abroad under an statutory health insurance system.

List of approved Insurance Companies / 符合規定條件之保險公司建議名單

If you are going to the Schengen Area, you need to have a Travel Medical Insurance (TMI).
There are many options, and there are some local insurance companies that have been pre-approved:

Name of company


Phone number



Cathay Century Insurance    國泰產險    0800-036-599    Link
Cathay Life Insurance   國泰人壽    N / A    Link
CHUBB   安達保險    (02) 8758-1800    Link
MSIG Mingtai Insurance   明台產物保險股份有限公司    0800-099-080    Link
Fubon Insurance   富邦產物保險股份有限公司    0808-000-550    Link
Hotai Insurance   和泰產物保險股份有限公司    2181 5000    Link


For more information, please download the  leaflet on travel medical insurance on the right hand side.

Visits to the Schengen area: reminder

Taiwanese passport holders do not require a visa any more for short stays in the Schengen area.

However, the visa waiver does not give an unconditional right of entry and short stay.

We would like to remind visitors that they need to have with them the following documents, which will be requested upon entry in the Schengen territory:

- a passport with a validity of at least three months at the intended time of departure from the Schengen Area. Only passports containing the identity card number of the holder are eligible.

- in addition, you might also be asked to show:

- flight tickets for further journeys and return tickets;

- evidence of sufficient means of subsistence;

- reservation of accommodation, invitation letter in case of visits, conferences; school enrolment certificate in case of study etc.

Visitors to the Schengen area need to have these documents available upon entry.

More information can be found on .

In doubt, questions can also be asked to representative offices of Schengen member countries in Taipei.

Please note that the visa waiver covers all passports – both biometric and non-biometric ones – issued by Taiwan, which contain the holder's identity card number. Taiwanese passports (of overseas Taiwanese citizens) not containing an identity card number remain subject to the visa obligation.

The Ministry of Denmark for Immigration has concluded that holders of old passports that state “Republic of China” on the front – and not Taiwan – are also eligible for visa free entry to Denmark as long as Taiwan is stated as birthplace and an ID number is to be found inside of the passport.

Introduction of the Visa Information System, VIS (Biometric data) on 12th October 2015

As of 12th October 2015, applicants need to appear in person for the collection of the biometric data: 10 fingerprints and a photograph are collected from persons applying for a visa. 
Before the recording of the photo applicants may be asked to remove glasses or adjust head coverings if they hide facial features. 
Certain categories of applicants are exempt from the requirement to give fingerprints, including: 
·         Children under the age of 12 
·         Persons for whom fingerprinting is physically impossible 
·         Heads of State and members of national governments, and members of their  official delegations when invited for an official purpose. 

The introduction of biometric data is part of the Schengen Visa Information System (VIS). For more information about VIS, fingerprints, data protection and legal background, please see Visa Information System (VIS)  

New rules regarding recording, registration and storage of aliens’ fingerprints and photographs in relation to identification and identity control take effect on July 1, 2017 as per an amending act to the Danish Aliens Act. For more information, please click here.

The following countries are members of the Schengen-agreement and the European Union (EU): 

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark (including Greenland, Faroe Islands), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

The following countries are members of the Schengen-agreement but not the European Union (EU):

Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

Please note that in future, Norwegian passport holders are required to have their birth certificates legalised by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Taiwan and no longer the Trade Council of Denmark.

The following countries are members of the European Union (EU). They partially apply Schengen-regulations and therefore also allow Taiwan-passport holders to travel visa free:

Bulgaria, Cyprus and Romania.

If you want to know more, please download the Q&A document (PDF) on the right hand side.



Please download the PDF below for further information on Travel Medical Insurance.

Please download the PDF below for further information on the the Schengen visa exemption. 

Please download the application for Schengen visa below.